- SEILER MUSEUM
Dunn-Seiler Geology Museum houses mineral and
rock collections, meteorites, and
extensive fossil displays that
facilitate viewer understanding of the 4.6 billion year
history of our planet. Visitors can learn about mineral
families and properties, igneous, sedimentary, and metamorphic
rocks, mass extinctions and asteroids, karst, plate tectonics,
and Mississippi's geology.
The Dunn-Seiler displays a Triceratops skull
Cretaceous crocodile skull,
and many fossils from Mississippi and the Southeast.
Over 1,000 visitors,
ranging in age from 8 to 70+, visit the Dunn-Seiler every
While the majority of
visitors are school students between grades
3 and 9, the museum has something for everyone. Museum
and fossil excursions can be arranged by calling
Ms. Kim Chewe in the Department
of Geosciences office at (662) 325-3915.
Individuals wishing to utilize specimens for research should
contact Amy Moe Hoffman,
first collections in
the Dunn-Seiler museum date to the late 1800's.
the Board of Trustees of Institutions of Higher Learning passed
a resolution which granted authority to
develop the Franklin
Seiler Museum. Mr. Franklin
Carl Seiler (1916–1945),
a geology student and later instructor
within the department, was killed
in action during WW II in Europe. In
1962, the museum was renamed the
Dunn-Seiler Museum in recognition of the efforts of Dr. Paul
Heaney Dunn (1895–1967),
who was department head from 1934 to 1962 and whose efforts
led to the development of the museum.